Empty Seas

by Auric

supported by
prosthesis_ thumbnail
prosthesis_ The opening moments of this album illustrate everything about why I love metal. Favorite track: Into Empty Seas.
Matthew Rukgaber
Matthew Rukgaber thumbnail
Matthew Rukgaber I do not know why I am always surprised when bands from my hometown are awesome, but Auric is awesome. Not terribly far removed from Rwake, Auric ups the ante for progressive southern sludge metal. This would have been a top 10 of 2015 if I knew about it last year. Favorite track: Glass Candle.
Okie Othsam
Okie Othsam thumbnail
Okie Othsam I wonder about the download size for the flac package > 1 GB ... but this release comes as HiRes :) ... Great songs, amazing quality
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Limited first pressing of Auric's second album, Into Empty Seas. Artwork by Sebastian Thomas and layout by Bailey Wise.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Empty Seas via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      $12 USD or more 




We are making this release name your price to record a new EP and maybe press some vinyl so any donations are appreciated.


released July 16, 2015

Erik Ebsen – Guitar, Percussion
Adam Ferrier – Guitar, Vocals, Lyrics
Mason Gills – Bass
Logan West – Drums, Vocals, Keyboards, Noise

Additional Keyboards and Noise by Andrew Jenner.
Artwork by Sebastian Thomas.
Design by Bailey Wise and Sebastian Thomas.

Drum Engineering by Nick Futch
Everything else recorded and mixed by Logan West
Mastering by Chris Moore at East Hall Recording.



all rights reserved


Auric Fayetteville, Arkansas

Auric is a progressive sludge metal band from Fayetteville, AR formed in 2011. Combining elements of post-metal, progressive rock, and blackened death metal, the four-piece have released two full-length albums and an EP earlier this year. The Arkansans have shared the stage with international acts Pallbearer, Inter Arma, Full of Hell & The Body, and Black Tusk. ... more

contact / help

Contact Auric

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Track Name: Into Empty Seas
Only remember what I displace
I've forgotten what it means
The space between is all that matters
Intervals transition
Time passes

Looking back I'm lost
But forward I'm scared
So I'm looking down

Forever ennui
Forever me
I am lost
Forever lost
Track Name: Backlit
A repetition in knowing
A repetition in nothing
An eternal return to the blur of motion
Motion towards an ever shifting target

I won't know if I've done right
Until the sun has peeled my back
Dancing rays and fleeting feeling
Close my eyes and I'll be gone
Track Name: Husks
A hard truth, a stone to swallow
A harmonious multitude of voices
All hollow in want

The pulling distress
Provides me no relief
It bears no joy
Only brings an epiphany of

All paths lead the same way
To a husk of anguish

With worlds leading to an endpoint of nothing
I'll wait away
I'll always wait

Everything I have
Is taken away for a promise of tomorrow
Track Name: Glass Candle
I deny you your complexity
The same one that defines me
Burn the glass candle at both ends
burnt out and stretched thin

Fly away from my reach
Sleep and never wake

What keeps pushing me forward
Keeps holding me back
Shifting equilibrium
Walking contradiction

I should have felt
I should have known
I could have leapt
I could have flown
Track Name: Stagnate
From far below I will watch
In the shadows I will lay
Killing time with stones and toxin
Breaking limbs and scraping skin
Nothing will ever be enough
Track Name: Wither
Dried out rivers fill an empty expression
Frail hands hold loose but don't let go
I have yet to see it all, but here I wilt away,
Along the walls
Merely a temporary impulse
I'll go too
But not like you

The voice has long left
All that remains are echoes
I'll go too
But not like you
Track Name: Rib Cage Prison
Choking on infinity
I have left the empty seas
For a place where nothing's real
All memory's forgotten
Everything will be replaced
Pass down nothing
Split the mortal coil

Rib cage prison
Floating snake corpse
Return to ash

Rib cage prison
Floating snake corpse
Return to nothing

Nothing lost
But everything taken
More will come
But not for me